M-Commerce India – The Future & Challenges faced!!

For last couple of days have been doing lot of research on M-Commerce Models in India and lot of people have come to my rescue in making me understand perils imposed by government regulations restricting growth of e-commerce in india through mobile medium.

Best to my understanding all the existing M-Commerce model been adopted by players like M-Check, Obopay, Paymate etc require user to map a banking instrument like credit card, debit card, bank account etc to their mobile phone account and via an application installed on phone or through the provider concentrate on making payment instrument mobile enabled.

Although its a big leap from security point of you enabling people to start paying via the mobile phone WAP,SMS medium for various merchant services available though still such services have not reached a critical stage due to lot of factors like non-tie up with all the banks or people still not comfortable sharing credit/debit card account information etc.

Trying to understand with such stringent norms coming through TRAI guidelines making its mandatory to identify customers which are as stringent as required to open an saving account and get a debit card, it made me wonder telecom companies with their access and reach are in the best for forward integration into becoming a bank then other way around. If today i using my mobile phone account could start paying at merchants like credit cards or using pre-paid cards start buying stuff like vegetables etc, my bank usage for daily transaction would reduce significantly.

I am sure it may make you think why are people at telecom companies doing same though biggest barrier understood from various experts is the TRAI license fees calculation system which is approx 6% of annual gross revenue. So until unless you register as VAS provider with operator and clearly revenue parted is shown in books it will be still counted as net reciept revenue making the commerce business unviable as merchants wont be ready to pay for transactions around 7-8% where banks are charging between 2-4%.

Compliance to RBI banking norms is much simpler task for such telecom companies for handling banking, fraud transactions but the biggest barrier imposed by TRAI in terms of license fees need to be cleared.

The way around for now is to build MVAS application which can be charged to user account on service or tangible asset delivered for consumption on mobile device then its workable.  The TRAI Guideline paper(linked) actually doesn’t restrict telecom companies to use their platform to accept payments as when you clearly read 2.1.3(iv) it clearly states in case of M-commerce one needs to adhere to RBI guidelines where ever necessary and if you goto RBI guidelines(linked) it states clearly that these guidelines are for “BANKS” for dealing with customers via mobile as a medium, this still doesnt govern the telecom companies.

I  am talking to lot of telecom’s to get their views on same and will do a follow up post if see some success.

16 Responses to “M-Commerce India – The Future & Challenges faced!!”


  1. 1 Brandz September 13, 2011 at 1:59 am

    nice post was very interesting to read

  2. 2 card acceptance December 8, 2012 at 7:18 pm

    I got this site from my buddy who informed me on the topic of this
    web site and now this time I am visiting this site and reading very informative articles
    at this time.

  3. 3 Web Hosting Faq April 24, 2013 at 8:28 am

    Heya i am for the primary time here. I came across
    this board and I to find It really helpful
    & it helped me out a lot. I am hoping to offer something back and aid others
    such as you aided me.

  4. 4 cell phone July 14, 2013 at 2:26 am

    Hi, Neat post. There is a problem together with your website in web explorer, might test this?
    IE nonetheless is the marketplace chief and a huge component to other people will pass over your wonderful writing due to this problem.

  5. 5 mobile marketing campaign September 10, 2013 at 4:50 am

    Howdy! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are
    you using for this site? I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had problems with
    hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform.
    I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  6. 6 Edward Howarth (@legaladvisor82) September 20, 2013 at 11:10 am

    Direcpay faster and safer payment gat way in India. We have service of more than 30 reputed banks online debit card gateway. direcpay.com

  7. 7 kredīti January 25, 2014 at 12:59 pm

    Thank you for sharing your info. I really appreciate
    your efforts and I will be waiting for your further write ups
    thanks once again.

  8. 8 where to buy a kindle April 5, 2014 at 6:18 pm

    Access to these systems was through a Telnet session at any
    of the school. Yes, it is possible for you to get the Kindle DX in South Africa now, but before
    we go into that, we must first try to understand
    what this gadget is, and how it can help you. You can place it on your little bag or pouch and
    bring it any place you visit ‘.

  9. 9 adiphene reviews June 20, 2014 at 11:49 am

    Not because they will be changed into adipose tissue, but because excess protein in your
    diet causes you to burn more protein and stare more fat.
    So, I know you are going to ask in desperation, is there any diet pill that works fast and yet doesn’t need any prescription to buy it.
    Uptil now no individual has actually been captured with any negative effects.

  10. 10 best appetite suppressant pills June 20, 2014 at 1:48 pm

    Don’t let fat cost-free or perhaps gentle meals trick
    anyone; them usually comprise copious amounts connected
    with one more unhealthy element. Adiphene the new weight loss formula is now
    available with the power of 11 different fat burners to
    boost weight loss. With more time now passed, those
    rates would be even higher as obesity is still on the rise.

  11. 11 owning a business in charlotte June 30, 2014 at 8:00 pm

    I enjoy what you guys are usually up too. Such clever work and
    coverage! Keep up the amazing works guys I’ve included you guys to my blogroll.

  12. 12 other March 15, 2016 at 4:37 pm

    This article will help the internet visitors for creating new webpage or even a weblog from start to end.

  13. 13 view site... March 15, 2016 at 7:55 pm

    Just wish to say your article is as surprising. The clarity in your post is
    just spectacular and i can assume you are an expert on this subject.
    Well with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please keep up the enjoyable
    work.

  14. 14 visit site March 22, 2016 at 7:27 am

    Hello there I am so excited I found your website, I really found you by mistake, while I was researching
    on Yahoo for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a remarkable post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at
    the minute but I have book-marked it and also added in your
    RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read
    a lot more, Please do keep up the awesome
    job.

  15. 15 web site March 22, 2016 at 3:27 pm

    Spot on with this write-up, I honestly think this web site needs much more
    attention. I’ll probably be back again to read more, thanks for the information!


  1. 1 Mobile Monday Bangalore » Indian Telecom News, Till 06-Sep-09 Trackback on September 6, 2009 at 10:35 pm

Leave a Reply

Contact Details

E-mail:siddharthpuri@gmail.com Call Me :+91-9910444460
August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

